Skip to main content

Delete a user (member)

Is it possible to delete a user (member) completely from the community database?

Shahjahan Jewel

If you delete a user from wp-users then all the data associated with the user will be deleted.

Mike Cameron

Shahjahan JewelΒ is this new? I don't think this was the case when beta testing. I had tried and ran into issues because the WP user was gone but the FC user still existed. I suspect i still have test users in FC that I deleted in WP. Which FC tables would I need to look to clean any up?

Tony Baker

Mike CameronΒ I just tried it on a multisite and when I deleted the user from the website they were also deleted from the community. Assume its also working on a single site install. Good that this was added πŸ‘

Mike Cameron

Tony BakerΒ thanks! Yeah this is important for sure! I'll test it here too.

Andreas Stocker

Shahjahan JewelΒ It is correct, now it works when the WordPress user is deleted. This was not the case in the beta phase.
Thanks Andreas

Mike Cameron

Shahjahan JewelΒ So I have a user that was created in Beta. The user has been deleted in WP and was NOT deleted in FC. How can I now clean up that user?

D@vid

Mike CameronΒ 
I have the same issue, reported here:
https://community.wpmanageninja.com/portal/space/community-meta/post/ghost-learners-they-keep-c

While trying to fix it, support broke my site and their solution didn’t work β€” details here:
https://community.wpmanageninja.com/portal/space/community-meta/post/i-m-honestly-stunned

As a result, I still have ghost members.
Moreover, the FC statistics don’t seem to register member deletions.

There are clear inconsistencies, and it’s worrying for the future.
I purchased the product back in December, and I’m still holding out hope that I’ll be able to actually use it someday.

Gregory Storm

Shahjahan JewelΒ Tony BakerΒ What happens to all of the community posts and comments of the deleted user?

If they are deleted, the deletion of their comments shouldn't affect a post they didn't start, right?

But if they started a post and that post has a lot of comments, the post is deleted along with all the comments?

Tony Baker

Gregory StormΒ I ran a quick check on this and if the user is deleted any posts they have added/started are removed. Also, any posts where they have commented the comments are removed as well. There is a slight bug where the comment count still shows, but its a small bug and really has little to no impact.

Gregory Storm

Tony BakerΒ Thank you so much for the update. I really appreciate it.