Stop weekly Community Emails
When a subscription ends, i remove users from spaces, courses and remove the wordpress user role, that is needed to be able to login to my community via FCRM.
Buuut: When the user previously had enabled the "weekly digest email", it's still sent to him, because although the user is removed from everything and can't login anymore, he still appears as a member of the community.
The bad thing: the user can't change his settings to not receive any mails in the future anymore, because he has no more access to the community to change the settings.
Any solution to this?
Admin can change setting in the profile, however frankly I think you should just remove the user completely if login is prohibited anyway.
Also user only gets digest mail if something happened in a space they are a member of. So you probably missed something somewhere.
J VΒ user was removed 11 days ago from all the spaces, digest mail was sent yesterday. So in my case it seems, that the "are a member of" part didn't work. To clarify: the user WAS a part of that space before, but not anymore at the time the email was sent.
Thing is, if i remove the user completely, all his posts are removed too, correct? (if so, that's no option)
So would we need to have an FCRM action "stop sending emails to"?
Shahjahan JewelΒ can you please clarify what should happen when a user gets removed from everything in the community, has no more access to the community (due to wordpress role) but stills listed as a member of the community?
Manuel MΓΌllerΒ Go to the member profile and change the notification settings. Easy if maybe not GPDR compliant. Did user consent for you to retain their data? IMO data should be removed if user cannot access.
So if someone pauses subscription for 1 month (and therefore has no access to the community and should not receive any mails), you would remove all the data?
Was the user removed from FC, or did you also delete the WordPress user account? I'd delete the WordPress account to stop the emails. If they're still going after you did that, something wonky.
William Beem it would be pretty silly if you'd have to delete the WPuser, i mean, what if you need that for Woo or your course plattform....(so no, i did not delete the wpuser)
In my version of a perfect world there should be something like a kill-switch for subscription communities, something like a FCRM action " withdraw all rights/stop communication"....
at the moment my "subscription ended" automation is preeeeetty long, because you can just remove one course/space at a time and so you need to have 1000 actions to remove users from everything
Manuel MΓΌllerΒ Well maybe it is a good idea to rethink your setup.
J VΒ happy to hear about your way of removing a user from a few spaces and courses
Manuel MΓΌllerΒ I would never completely block the user from logging in. Technically if they receive the emails, it might draw them back in. They cannot actually see the space even if they can login. Unless maybe the spaces aren't private in the first place.
Manuel MΓΌllerΒ Forget about the "what if" aspect. Is that something you have to contend with on your site? WooCommerce doesn't require customers to have a WP user account. Your post suggests that you don't want a former subscriber to log in to the site again, so what purpose does the user account serve?
Removing users from spaces/courses is relatively easy with FluentCRM Pro (the base version doesn't offer many features). You could remove the user from all spaces/courses in one step. I'm not sure if you're using FluentCRM, but I suspect not.
In order to try and be more helpful, can you describe what process or system you're currently using?
William BeemΒ my process is quite simple:
- buy a surecart product
- get access to thrive apprentice course (lifetime; Wordpress Role A) and a limited time to the community (subscription; via FCRM PRO actions and another Wordpress Role B)
- when community subscription ends, all access to the community is withdrawn by FCRM actions (remove from space, remove from course, remove wordpress role B)
(The reason i also use a Wordpress role B especially for the community, is to have kind of another safety net, to be able to block a user from accessing the community if needed)
And that's the point where i'm at:
- The User still needs to be a Wordpress User because of Apprentice and be able to log in to the course.
- So when i withdraw all access to the community via FCRM actions and withdraw wordpress role B (community is just for certain roles), the user is still listed in the community under members (without being in any course or space and without having access to it) and still gets the weekly digest email.
So if it's normal, that a user still gets digest mails, although that person is in no space or course anymore (or is it a bug?) but still in the community, my question would be how we can
- stop the emails from being sent (when the user can't do it anymore because of no access to the community and without me doing that manually every time that happens) or as an alternative
- remove the user from the community without deleting the wordpress account and without losing all the posts and comments that person made
J VΒ not all of my spaces are private since my community is only for certain wordpress roles. Basically the spaces that everyone can have access are not private.
Still to be clear, i don't want anyone, who shouldn't have access to the community (anymore) see anything in it.
But maybe that would be the route to go - make all spaces private.
Although I prefer it, when - in the first place - you can choose which of the "non private" spaces you want to join instead of me putting every user in all of them via FCRM (because they're now private)....
but if everything's private the user could still log in to change his settings after his subscription ended (why didn't i think of that), without seeing anything.
Thanks for the input - will definitely consider this way!
Still, if it's not just a bug or a gremlin, i wish we could choose a predefined setting how we want to deal with it.
Manuel MΓΌllerΒ I believe the user has a right to access his data and blocking them from that is a violation of the GPDR. That is why I said to maybe rethink your structure. Keeping some spaces open and thus keeping the user informed, may be something you end up benefitting from. Good luck.