Skip to main content

Delete profile

How can users delete their profile? Shahjahan Jewel

When a user is deleted from WP Users the community profile is also get deleted.

David Fore

Shahjahan JewelΒ Yes, that is one way to do it, but for that, the member/user would have to request to an admin to delete their account. I'm not sure but for our sites to be GDPR compliant, wouldn't it need to have the option available for each user/member the ability to delete their own account when they choose to? I know BuddyPress had this option available and we (admins) could toggle it on or off per our preference inside the settings.

David ForeΒ WordPress has this option built in where user can request to delete their profile. So if you delete the profile from WP users, the whole account and community content data will be deleted.

David Fore

Shahjahan JewelΒ Ok, thanks. I wasn't aware of that. So, how do I activate that? and when I do, will that give the members of my FC the "option" to delete their own account in their profile?

David ForeΒ I also wish to give FC users option to delete their own account on their profile πŸ™πŸ» Doing it manually is such a hassle

David Fore

TjaΕ‘a PeterleΒ Yeah, it can be. I don't want people to leave my Community, so when we were using BuddyPress, I had this option turned off. That way if someone wanted to delete their account, they would have to send me a request to do so, at which time I could inquire of them as to why they wanted to no longer be a part of the Community, and to see if there is anything that we can possibly change or implement that they feel should be or would like to be, so we can keep them as a member, and if they decided nothing would do, then I'd delete their account.

But, I've heard that to be GDPR compliant, this option needs to be available to the member specifically for them to delete their account themselves if they so desire to.

I'm not sure if this is 100% correct for the GDPR compliance or not, just something I think I've read or heard somewhere. So, if anyone knows more specifically, I'm all ears.

Jorge de los Reyes

David ForeΒ From a GDPR point of view, it’s slightly different from what you’ve heard.

  • The GDPR does not say you must have a self-service β€œdelete my account” button.
  • What it does require is that members can exercise their right to erasure (Art. 17) and that you facilitate this in an easy way (Art. 12): e.g. via a clear in-app option, form, or email. It has to be as easy to delete… as it was to create.
  • For social/community platforms, a self-delete option in the profile is considered best practice (and avoids β€œdark patterns” where leaving is harder than joining). It also saves you time and money in customer support. And in fines… because not addressing this right on the preceptive time (30 days, with nuances in case of delays), you could possibly get a β€œgood fine”.

One important caveat: even if you let users delete their account, you can’t always delete everything immediately.

If there are legal retention duties (e.g. invoices or transaction records stored in your own database), those need to be kept for the required legal period applicable to the customer, ideally separated/archived and no longer used for normal profiling or marketing.

Hope it helps :)

β€”

PS.: So it’s not exactly that it’s β€œfake”. In some cases, as I mentioned, if deleting is significantly harder than creating an account, that could be an issue: and you’d need to justify it. Just handle requests on time and make the process easy :)

D@vid

"But, I've heard that to be GDPR compliant, this option needs to be available to the member specifically for them to delete their account themselves if they so desire to."
Fake

Kevin Watson

Chiming back in here after searching for this subject. I am not creating WP user profiles with my community. It is staying within the Fluent system (so far). So the user needs to be able to delete their account within the Fluent system, not just deactivate it. I do not see an option for this.

I don't like adding hundreds of WP users to the site. Is there a reason that should be the better way? Shahjahan JewelΒ