Skip to main content

Auto-Delete After Time

Currently, I'm using the workflows feature to auto-delete closed tickets. However, because I'm a tutor, sometimes students or their parents disclose information which is sensitive and has specific rules in safeguarding guidance. I have to keep data containing safeguarding information for a minimum of 7 years.

I was wondering if it would be possible to add something to the workflow feature that gives you the opportunity to wait for a certain length of time before the automation comes into effect?

It would really help a lot of UK and EU people with GDPR compliance in their ticketing systems and make us able to provide more robust privacy and/or GDPR policies.

Shahjahan JewelΒ what are your thoughts on the possibility of this?

Rasel Siddiqe

Hey Shani CiproΒ your request makes sense, addind a waiting period in case of tickets matching certain conditions like containing sensitive info in your case.

We'll raise this to the Dev team for further consideration.

If you don't mind, would you kindly share the sorting or the logic you use to select tickets for deletion. It would help us plan the feature better.

Shani Cipro

Rasel SiddiqeΒ Thanks for your reply! On my website, I have a specific business inbox for safeguarding concerns so that students can report issues they have or worries they have for one another.

In an ideal world, I would be able to close the ticket and I would be able to add a workflow saying that tickets specifically in that inbox get deleted after 7 years of closure. However, at the moment, that poses two main issues.

The first one is, of course, that there is no waiting period that you can add between closure and deletion. The second one is that I also need any attachments to be deleted at the same time as deletion rather than closure, since I could be asked by a local authority or the police to retrieve a safeguarding concern for up to 7 years after a student turns 18.

So at the moment, my logic is this: I have separate forms via FluentForms for different support tickets and they go to different business inboxes. I then deal with the ticket and manually tag any tickets ready for closure with 'Safeguarding - Decision Made'. That way I don't have to close the ticket and lose the attachments. Then I've used the auto-close settings to automatically close specifically tickets with the Decision Made tag on them after 7 years, and added a workflow to delete tickets from that specific business inbox on close.

Ideally, you'd be able to choose auto-close and auto-delete dates by tag and by business inbox!

Rasel Siddiqe

Shani CiproΒ Thanks for the detailed response. We've been discussing time based triggers and waiting periods for the Workflows. Your case is a very practical example of why they are necessary. We'll push for the devs to include this as soon as possible.