Skip to main content

Incompleteness in Community 2.0 when copying course topic to another course

When copying a course topic to another course, there is a problem if a lesson contains attached documents. After copying, the file link appears in both lessons.

Problem: If one of the lessons is deleted, the file on the server is also deleted. However, the other lesson still contains a link to the file, which can no longer be removed β€” an error occurs.

Possible solutions:

  1. When copying, do not attach the file.
  2. When copying, create a duplicate of the file for the new lesson.
  3. Use a shared file for both lessons, which is deleted only if both lessons are removed (preferred option).

Raiyan Marzan

Olex LipinskiΒ Thanks for bringing this to our attention and for your suggestion. It will be addressed in the upcoming release.

Olex Lipinski

Raiyan MarzanΒ Maybe I described the mistake in the wrong way, see below

Olex Lipinski

In the new update to version 2.1.0 I see:

  • Fixed: Document Delete Issue on Copy Course Section

In fact, everything has remained as it was. You can check it yourself:

  1. Π‘reate course-1, it contains Module-1, it contains Lessons-1, add Files.pdf
  2. Copy Course-1 and get Course-2. They are identical, both have Files.pdf
  3. Delete Course-1. Files.pdf is deleted from the server.
  4. In Course-2, a shadow file is deposited, when you try to delete it, an error occurs (in the figure)

Raiyan Marzan

Olex LipinskiΒ Fixed the issue with duplicate course. Please check with the latest version. Thank you!

Olex Lipinski

Raiyan MarzanΒ Yes, there is no error now, but when you delete a document from one course, it is still deleted from the server and is not available for both courses at once.

What's the sense of copying the course? In order to have a duplicate, which we change with some edits for use. For example, I have a Course that I assign to groups that I collect every three months. Each group works in its own copy of the course, leaves comments, etc.

If I want to delete a course that is no longer needed, the attached files in all copies will be deleted at the same time. Then duplication of courses makes no sense. That's what I meant.

Raiyan Marzan

Olex LipinskiΒ Currently, if you delete a course or lesson, the document file won’t be deleted if it’s being used in a duplicated lesson as you mentioned in the last point. However, deleting the file directly removes the main file β€” that’s the bug, and we’ll address it in the next release. Thanks again for the detailed information and testing!

Olex Lipinski

Raiyan MarzanΒ Yes, work correctly, thank you!