Skip to main content

Deleting Membership in the Community

I don't see an option for someone to opt-out from the community altogether. There is an option to exit a Space, but not the community at large. Even if someone will exit all the Spaces he is member in - he will still be in the friends directory.

To note - I'm making a distinction between opting out of the community and deleting the wp user. Some might still want to be a user (to access various thing on the site) but not a part of the community.

Shahjahan Jewel

Shahjahan Jewel

It's on the context menu for a space.
If you want to block someone: You can do that by editing the member profile or members page. You can block that member.
Each member is actually a WP User Profile so you delete a user all the content of that user will be deleted as well.

Assaf Manor

Shahjahan Jewel, What I was aiming at is that the user will have the ability to remove himself from the community and not just a space (and without deleting his wp user). Use case - I have LearnDash courses. I expect some students will want to continue learning in the courses they bought (obviously) but wouldn't want to be part of the community (and wouldn't want their name in the friends directory).

And at scale it's not reasonable that only the admins will be able to remove them from the community, and again - it's not an option now. Just deleting the wp user.

Shahjahan Jewel

Assaf Manor, Users can leave a space from the community page themselves. Currently, there is no self-leave for courses. We will add that.

Assaf Manor

Shahjahan Jewel, There is a bit of terminology mixup (and I think also at the app itself). When I used the word community - I ment the entire social network itself, not a space. Yes I see there is an option to leave a space, but there is no option to leave the entire social network itself (but leave the wp user intact).

Side note - following this terminology remark - I think that instead of "My Communities" it should be changed to "My Spaces", to be consistent with the terminology.

But the main issue for me is again to give users the ability to leave the social network itself.